Ender’s Game

Posted on March 7, 2013

0


Is anyone excited for the Ender’s Game movie due out this fall? I know the answer to that question is “yes” because my wife is one of those people! She LOVED the book and read several of the other books that followed in the series. I read it only because my wife recommended it while I was courting her; I had not heard of Ender’s Game otherwise. I waited a week or two for a copy to arrive at the local library in  Brooklyn which did tell me one thing….. there were people in Brooklyn who read dorky fiction!!!

The book, published in 1985, did very well immediately. It won the Nebula award that year and the Hugo award in 1986, which are very prestigious accomplishments in the science fiction writing world. Since then, it’s won more awards and ranked very high on many science fiction book lists. The fans are more than casual readers…they’re more like Trekkies. Similarly, they’re usually intelligent, which makes it harder to mock them or the book! One guy, whose name I forget, listed Ender’s Game in his Top 5 favorite books. He was a multi-millionaire, non-traditional investor and probably 60 years old. I’m not in a position to argue with him.

According to Wikipedia: The U.S. Marine Corps recommend the book on its “Professional Reading List” for “provid[ing] useful allegories to explain why militaries do what they do in a particularly effective shorthand way.” Also, from the same PDF, “lessons in training methodology, leadership, and ethics as well [….] Ender’s Game has been a stalwart item on the Marine Corps Reading List since its inception.” I wouldn’t want that endorsement if I were Card but he’s not responsible for what others do with his writing.

Card’s Mormon theology definitely shapes the book and its sequel, Speaker For the Dead. Most people haven’t studied Mormonism so wouldn’t pick this up. Instead, illiberal and outraged voices are burning up the comments section on anything having to do with the movie or Card himself because of his opposition to same-sex marriage.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/enders-games-orson-scott-cards-422456

Cover of "Ender's Game (Ender Quartet)"

Cover of Ender’s Game (Ender Quartet)

Cover of "Speaker for the Dead (Ender Qua...

Posted in: art, Married Life