Daily Devotionals

Posted on January 10, 2013

0


English: Robert Murray McCheyne Français : Rob...

I began a daily devotional time with my wife on Jan 1st. Although we have only been married since October, it was something I had been thinking of for some time. In all my years as a single man, I had never had a set time in the day in which to read Scriptures or pray; Bible reading was usually done at night and prayer throughout the day. The marriages I most wanted to emulate had a steady, set time for devotionals. So, before life got too busy, I thought we’d better come up with a plan and make it a habit. I picked Robert Murray McCheyne’s popular daily calendar as a guide, using the first half, reading two instead of four chapters most days. It’s probably too early to report, but it’s going great! We do the readings right after dinner, before cleaning up. My wife would probably prefer it be done in the morning but that’s not likely, since it takes me a while to wake up fully.

 

All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.

2 Timothy 3:16-17.

